The Beaumonts: Bringing…sandwiches?

The Beaumonts play music you have to hear to be able to define. Steve (vocals and guitar) told us what got him started in music and how the band works together for inspiration.

When was the exact moment you realized you wanted to be a musical artist?

The first time I ever actually SAW someone doing it…as opposed to just listening. I was on vacation in Cape Code in 1974 and my parents stopped at a restaurant on the way home to Avon, NY. There was a band on a small stage there, and when I walked back to our table from the bathroom the guitar player winked at me. I was mesmerized by the sight and sounds of live musicians.

What sparked that passion?

I have been moved by music since before I could walk. I remember hearing songs on the radio even back then that seemed to take me to another world; the combination of the melody against the chords was like a complete language to me. The idea of being able to create that was the most exciting idea I’ve ever had.

When did you first start pursuing your passion/career?

My friend’s parents had a country band, and in 1979 I would go downstairs at their house and play the drummers kit. One day his father came in the house while I was playing and asked “Hey, where’d you learn to play drums like that?” I said, “On your kit….” So he gave me his old kit which I played on for about a year and a half until my brother brought home the first Van Halen album. I sold my drums 3 days later and bought a guitar. I was 15 years old.

How would you describe your music?

I describe it as alternative pop rock … but what does that mean? I always have to describe it using elements that make it up in terms of what most people might already know. It’s old Chicago meets Bob Marley meets the backing band to Amy Winehouse meets Doves with some Elvis Costello and Cardigans thrown in. It’s all original music. You have to just hear it and make up your own label I guess.

Where is your music being featured and sold?

We play all over. We opened up for Michael Franti two years ago, Eddie Money last year. You can buy our music at our shows, or just get a hold of us through www.beaumontsmusic.com. We also have videos on YouTube and will have songs on iTunes soon.

What feedback have you received from showcasing your music and performances?

Most people who have never heard us assume we’re from out of town because we have a killer horn section and a very tight rhythm section. It’s tough to be an all-original band in Rochester but we have gotten some great reactions to our songs over the years. 

What has inspired you the most and why?

We seem to inspire each other. Everyone in the band is very talented at what they do and we get excited about what everyone brings to a song. In the end, it’s about emotion and connecting with others through that emotion.

What projects are you currently working on?

We are headed into the studio in the next month to begin a full recording project.

What do you feel you will bring to the Canandaigua Arts and Music Festival?

Probably some sandwiches…is that ok?

What should attendees expect to see from your performance at this year’s Festival?

A polished band with some amazing original music.

What’s one thing that people may not already know about you?

We like great conversations, walks on the beach, and are just as comfortable in jeans as we are in, say, a classic evening gown.

