Marcangelo Perricelli: Orchestral + Synthesizers = Synthestral Music

Marcangelo Perricelli aspired to be a musician and composer from a very young age. He’ll play his “synthestral” music for us starting at 1:30pm on Sunday, July 17 on the Commons Park Stage.

When did you realize you wanted to be a musical artist?

The first time I heard the Beatles.

What sparked your passion?

I really don’t know… I just wanted to be a musician after that. I started guitar lessons at 9 years old.

When did you first start pursuing your passion/career?

When I was 17 years old I bought my first keyboard, which was an organ, and I never stopped since.

How would you describe your music?

My music is melodic, poly-rhythmical, ethereal, colorful… sometimes orchestral or synthestral as I call it (orchestral but with synthesizers). My music can be harsh or soothing it all depends on what I am writing.

Where is your music being featured and sold?

My music has been featured on Ann Williams “Nightscapes” radio show, Morow.com in France and in Europe, many Progressive internet radio programs in the US. My music is available at: iTunes (Worldwide), emusic, Amazon and many other digital download music stores.

What feedback have you received from showcasing your music and performances?

People tell me they love the music! I am very happy that people like it because then I can keep performing it. :)

What has inspired you the most and why?

I have been inspired by everything that surrounds me. I am a very emotional artist and I try to bring that out in my performances and my music.

What projects are you currently working on?

I am currently working on 2 new CDs. One is called “In the Valley of Teacups” which is a new age CD and the other is “The Black Plague,” which is a progressive rock and orchestral mix.

What do you feel you will bring to the Canandaigua Arts and Music Festival?

Great Music, high spirits and Fun! My wife is a photographer so we will be wandering around just feeling the good vibes there.

What should attendees expect to see from your performance at this year’s Festival?

Well, I guess they’re going to see 5 great musicians playing their butts off! LOL We are hoping to create a WOW factor with our music. :)

What’s one thing that people may not already know about you?

I collaborate with the former lead singer of the band “YES,” Jon Anderson. We have been doing this for 3 years now and we send music back and forth to each other. He works on my music and I work on his. We have become very good friends over the years and I have learned much from the master of progressive rock. He’s just a great guy!

 

